Published Works

Short Stories:

Benni and Shiya are Leaving    published in Grist: Imagine 2200, Climate Fiction for Future Ancestors, online     (Oct. 2022)   https://grist.org/fix/climate-fiction/imagine-2200-benni-and-shiya-are-leaving/ (solarpunk)

Rules for a Civilization –  published in Glass and Gardens: Solarpunk Winters, in an anthology by World Weaver Press (The printed copy is at some public libraries, eg. Kingston, or can be purchased online as an ebook for $5.99 or found on some Overdrive accounts on many public library systems.) (solarpunk)

Camping with City Boy   published in Glass and Gardens: Solarpunk Summers,in an anthology by World Weaver Press (The printed copy is at some public libraries, eg. Kingston, or can be purchased online as an ebook for $5.99 or found on some Overdrive accounts on many public library systems.) (solarpunk)

In the Karakum Desert – published in Flyway: Journal of Writing & Environment, online  (2022)  (climate fiction) https://flywayjournal.org/fiction/in-the-karakum-desert-jerri-jerreat/

Arborite Countertops –    1st Place- published in Onyx Publications,  online (2022)  (realistic, contemporary family drama) (https://onyxpublications.com/arborite-countertops/

Lightning in 35–              published in Alluvian Literary Magazine online  (2022)            http://alluvian.space/jerri-jerreat-lightning-in-35   (solarpunk)

First Date –                      published in The Penmen Review, online        https://penmenreview.com/first-date/ (humour, LGBTQ2+)

Water Marriage–            published in Everyday Fiction online                 https://everydayfiction.com/water-marriage-by-jerri-jerreat/ (solarpunk)

The Narrow Café-          published in The Yale Review online                   https://yalereview.org/article/narrow-cafe

(magic realism)

Cowboy in Red is Cheating  — published in Feminine Collective   (2021)   https://www.femininecollective.com/cowboy-in-red-is-cheating/ (realistic drama w. warning)

5 Senses   –                published in  Loud Coffee Press   (2022) (dark humour?)

Cinnamon –            published by The New Quarterly in issue 154 (2020) – A barista woos a writer of math problems for textbooks by telling her stories. It is set in Kingston’s Portsmouth neighbourhood. (contemporary)

You can read it online by subscribing for the year to tnq.ca for $20 or purchasing this issue for $10. I’m sorry it is not available online. I encourage folx to subscribe to tnq.ca online for free because great stories keep being posted there. This one might get a turn as well.

Red to Pink – published in This Will Only Take a Minute – 100 Canadian Flashes, Guernica Editions, Toronto, 2022. This printed anthology costs $20 from the publisher or your local, independent bookstore. (flash, realism)

Featheredge — published by The Dalhousie Review, issue 85.1

Go to The Dalhouse Review website, search archives for issue 85. 1, then search it for “Featheredge”. It can be read online! Bravo, Dalhouse! I love this story.

Storm Rising — published in The Antigonish Review (TAR), issue 189 . Email to inquire if it is available online, but back printed issues are $20. Sigh.

Island — published in Toasted Cheese Literary Journal. https://tclj.toasted-cheese.com/archives/volume-20-issue-1/

The Transformation– published in The New Quarterly issue 145. Search TNQ website for my name, see if it is free online yet, or purchase the issue?

…& other stories were published earlier in Fireweed Literary Journal, Room, in an anthology of science fiction called Nevertheless–Tesseracts 21 by Edge Publishing, Calgary, etc.etc. etc.

Generally, I now try to avoid literary magazines that are only available in print.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close